Kelly Counselor's Conversations

A discussion about life and how school counseling fits into it all

What this blog IS and IS NOT…an unconventional welcome

on July 18, 2013

Welcome to my new blog! You will quickly get to know me as someone who “gets to the point” in the kindest and clearest way possible. To get to said point, I’ll use the 5 W’s today to explain:

Who will enjoy my blog?

Those who enjoy ongoing dialogue, humor, random thoughts, and connections with knowing we all FAIL (forever are in learning) in both life and this profession at times. Thank goodness we have each other for support.

What will readers expect?

Readers (followers, I should say, because I know you already clicked that button over there, right?) should expect humor, honesty, and humility in the most formal way I can muster up that day. This blog will chronicle my life and how the school counseling profession fits into it. You’ll get to know me more personally than many other school counseling blogs.

This blog will NOT be one where I simply share resources, tech tips, etc. Believe me, I love these kind of blogs and you should check out my “Blogs I Follow” tab because they have helped me immensely, and I may share from time to time if it fits within the context. It’s just not the point-of-view I’m choosing. It’s always been important for me to connect to those in my life, even my students, by “being real”.

When will I post?

Basically, when I feel called to do so. For now, I’m not putting restraints on the whole daily, weekly, monthly thing. Let’s see how this evolves.

Where can readers contact me?

The easiest way to keep abreast of blog updates is to follow this blog, which you surely already did, or follow me on Twitter: @kelly_counselor.

Why did I decide to write this blog?

I’m been encouraged to write a blog by many friends and family for a while. Amazingly, some people out there think I’m pretty funny. Plus, I’ve always had epic fails with journaling so perhaps this can be a means of catharsis for me. It’s worth a shot!

Also, I love to post quotes and visuals. Lots and lots of quotes and visuals. Here I leave you with the first of many!

F.Scott Fitz

6 responses to “What this blog IS and IS NOT…an unconventional welcome

  1. Renard Moreau says:

    [ Smiles ] Best of luck on your blog, Kelly.

  2. Franciene says:

    Kelly, welcome to the blogging world! Looks like you’re off to a great start. I love your direction, honesty & the idea of posting quotes. I love the first one you’ve shared, I look forward to following you.

  3. Tabitha says:

    Awesome! Love it. Especially “being real” and writing with humilty and honesty. You know I am all about that too.

Leave a Reply

