Kelly Counselor's Conversations

A discussion about life and how school counseling fits into it all

Champ or Chump?

on July 26, 2013

I am currently a member of two boards and a task-force team.

It’s not that I cannot say no to opportunities.  Ok, I cannot say no to opportunities, but it’s from a genuine want to be involved in so many great things!  Since my time is valuable, I have to somewhat selfishly determine if the involvement helps me and/or my school counseling program improve.

I help my local Girls on the Run chapter determine barriers that may keep it from expanding.  I’m the elementary representative of the Indiana School Counseling Association, and I just joined the board of my school community’s local health care center. I have learned A LOT in the past year.

So when am I going to ever feel like I am worthy to be a member of these groups?

Growing up, my parents certainly had their expectations, but they never pushed me in a certain direction.  Nor did they ever pressure me to be the best or get straight A’s.  So why do I, to an extent?

I was fortunately enough to have a serious talk with my former principal a few years back about ego.  I had a big one when I started this profession.  I chose to do things that impressed adults, and didn’t necessarily put kids in the forefront.  I’ve done a lot of work and processing to always keep the focus where it should be.  I’m much more fulfilled at work because of it.

 

I’m 30 years old, for crying out loud!  Yet, I still feel like a kid sitting with all these professionals whom I deeply admire.  In other words, I still feel like a chump.  I suppose I must keep moving forward, trusting that I am somewhat competent and being grateful so many people believe in me.

Do you ever feel like this?  What helps you feel more like a champ?

 

Steve Jobs

4 responses to “Champ or Chump?

  1. Katy says:

    I think we’re in the same boat. I feel like a chump a lot due to being young and having a lot less experienced than those I work with. I feel more like a champ when I remember that darn it-I am smart and have good ideas!! The worst thing someone can do is say “no” to something I suggest. I think being young is an asset due to the fact we see things through a different lens and also can relate a little better to kids (at times). The end goal is to help children and the community and really, what age/qualifications do you need for that!?

    Sorry I could go on about this…. 🙂

    • I wonder how much of this age struggle comes into play with my insecurity, Katy. I’m sure some of it! I guess it’s important to remember to stay true to the cause and remember it takes years to be taken seriously in this field. It’s a patience walk for sure. Thanks for following! 🙂

  2. Jan says:

    You know, Kelly, it speaks a lot about your character that you could hear what your principal said, consider it, recognize growth areas, and move to improve. Not everyone can do that. Kudos to your principal for caring about you enough to hold a crucial conversation with you. I have asked good friends for that kind of feedback, but didn’t receive it. I recently thanked someone for doing the same for me and I thanked them mostly for giving me opportunity to grow. I didn’t like everything I heard, but I was grateful for someone taking the time and the courage to help me, not hurt me. Pats on the back, Kelly!

    • Thanks Jan. That was a conversation with many tears on my part which was embarrassing at the time, but it was critical to help me have some grace with myself from time to time. I don’t know if I still would have been doing this today had that not happened. But you know this job humbles you all the time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

