Kelly Counselor's Conversations

A discussion about life and how school counseling fits into it all

The Home Away From Home

on August 7, 2013

You’ve probably figured out from my previous post that I have an insecurity or two in my career, but this week has been a great remedy so far- SHOPPING and setting my up my office!

This month, school counselors from all over are posting pics of their offices on Twitter using the hashtag #scoffice.  But you get to see mine right here, complete with color commentary!

 

image

I love a lot of color, and I am proud to say no child has ever fallen asleep in my office (that I know of).

image

I’m not ashamed to say that I had no creativity before Pinterest- this will be a board of some of my favorite quotes I’ve found on there.  Today I found out we have to do our OWN laminating this year- the travesty!  🙂

 

image

More color!  The college poster was actually on my bulletin board last year with pennants from college all over Indiana.  This is my biggest passion in a school counselor- my kids knowing WHY they go to school.

The colored bin is where I store my materials for my K-5 guidance lessons- funny how there’s 6 bins!  You can get it at United Art and Education.

 

image

This is the second year I’ve had my “Where is Mrs. Johnson?” sign (stuck with heavy, heavy-duty tape) and it’s so helpful especially for our office staff.  Note the classy sticky note that has replaced the arrow that broke off, oh, 10 months ago.  Thanks to Danielle Schultz’s School Counselor Blog for the idea.

 

image

I just finished this today- “Whoo can help you with…” with moi as the big owl and with teachers, parents, and students right below me as the other forest creatures!  All the leaves and little owls have things written on them I help students with.  It felt good to have so many!

I also got an owl air freshener for my office- I love the whole owl, wisdom thing this year.  I think I’ll stick with it.

What helps make your “Home away from home” feel like home?

 

2 responses to “The Home Away From Home

  1. Jan says:

    Fun, Kelly! My office is finally together, but I have a few more things I’d like to add. I’ve love trying to find ideas on Pinterest.

    • I can’t wait to see it- perhaps a visit your way needs to be planned soon! Pinterest has helped me a lot with lessons and worksheets too- I have about 10 boards just for school counseling! 😛

Leave a Reply

