Kelly Counselor's Conversations

A discussion about life and how school counseling fits into it all

Cha-Cha-Cha Changes

on August 25, 2013

It seems like everything is different at school this year.

I’ve welcomed the changes to the schedule, staff, etc. because they’ve for the most part have worked in my favor.  I’m allowed more freedom to do my “school counselor thang” and spend less time with fair-share duties and administrative tasks.

A lot of our teachers, though, are feeling the pressure of a tighter schedule, hectic curriculum pacing, and more loss of creativity.  In two weeks, some are already downright battle weary.  Especially the ones who have given so many years to this great profession.

This week I’ve thought a lot of family members who have told me, “get back to me in 20 or 30 years and tell how you feel about (insert current opinion).”

How will I feel about my life and my vocation in 20 or 30 years?  Will I have a growth mindset like I have now?  I hope so.  But I also know it’s easy in year five to be still riding the wave of current trends, when your own generation is dictating what is mainstream, not just in education but in society.

I’ve read a statistic that said half of all educators quit the profession within five years; I wonder how many that have been in the profession much longer feel like throwing their hands up and calling it a day.  But how many actually do?  Not really any.  The enticement of benefits, retirement and the innate love of children all have to come in play.

I suppose the best way to combat this worry is not to look into the future, but to focus on the present and be mindful of it.  I think that will be the best determination of whether I’ll say either “bring it on!” or “screw it!” 30 years from now.

I’m wishing you all a growth mindset as many of you are returning back to school this month.  Take care and listen to these wise words:

Cookie monster

One response to “Cha-Cha-Cha Changes

  1. Antoinette Clinton says:

    nice work – pedagogyathome.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

