Kelly Counselor's Conversations

A discussion about life and how school counseling fits into it all

Kind is Cool!

on October 8, 2013

Growing up, I was bullied more than once. In fourth grade, I remember being called “egghead” by my peers and chased around the playground for weeks.

I never knew it was bullying, and I never knew I could talk to someone about it.

In middle school, I was told by some, “you’re not cool enough to hang out with us”, and was shunned by my former peer group.

I never knew it was bullying, and I never knew I could talk to someone about it.

In high school, I was constantly teased by some I considered to be my best friends. I was afraid to speak up because having lousy friends was better than having none.

I never knew it was bullying, and I never knew I could talk to someone about it.

So when the Indiana State Legislature passed an anti-bullying law in May, I was both excited and stressed at the news. It was high time that a comprehensive plan for all public schools was mandated. But, I knew I was lacking in what I was teaching students. Focusing so intently on conflict resolution for years made little time to explain the difference between that and actual bullying.

I’m still working at finding “just the right stuff” to teach the kiddos as this is a more complex issue than it seems, but a good start was having my school’s first annual “Wear Blue to Stand Up Against Bullying Day” today.

Using the general premise from Stomp Out Bullying and resources from the Mean Stinks “Gang Up For Good” Kit, we were able to have a day to emphasized the power of students standing up for kindness, not cruelty.

Will this wipe bullying off the face of the Earth, or even at my school? Probably not. But my students know WHAT bullying IS, and know they can talk to ME about it.

20131007-201810.jpg

20131007-201833.jpg

20131007-201857.jpg

20131007-201913.jpg

20131007-202119.jpg

Leave a Reply

