Kelly Counselor's Conversations

A discussion about life and how school counseling fits into it all

Less is More

on November 2, 2013

It’s been a little strange for me to be “off the grid” for a few weeks, but it’s exactly what I needed.

I had what I like to call a “Classic Kelly Meltdown” a few weeks back on a Wednesday; I was sure I was pregnant and took a test for the 15th time after calling my OB nurse and following the “wait 3 days, take one again” advice. Needless to say, I got confirmation that I was not. I flipped out (yeah, I’ll call it what it is), and took the day off. I knew I would be no good to the students and staff I serve that day.

I took the day and really reflected on my priorities, and why I was still having such a hard time after my miscarriage in June, and realized that since I became a school counselor five years ago, I had never had such a high level of stress in both my professional and personal life at the same time.

I told my intern last week at school, “I always liked to say that my husband and family was my biggest priority, but actually I’ve made work the priority.”

This is no good if you’re trying to start a family. So, I’m working on spending more time at home, and being present when I’m there. This means leaving work earlier, leaving it there, staying off social media much more, and not making a blog post.

And you know what? The only person who’s noticed is me.

I’m going to continue to take steps to address my perfectionistic and overachieving tendencies, and though it’s been hard to “let go”, I have noticed that I’m much more relaxed and present.

It’s just not worth it to have it all, if you have nothing left inside.

20131102-092917.jpg

4 responses to “Less is More

  1. Melissa Magnus says:

    I am so sorry you had that disappointing notice. And recovering from a miscarriage takes a very long time. I had mine in April and still have bad days. My due date was supposed to be November 21st and as the time gets closer it seems as if the pain has resurfaced. I have been keeping you in my prayers for healing in the heart and that your dream of becoming a mom happens for you. But, good for you to realize you need to be more present in your home life and taking the steps to do so. Not too many people well realize they need to do so AND take the right steps in order to do it. So, be proud of that. 🙂

  2. Good for you. I always wonder how counselors have time for all that they do at work, then balance personal life and social media. As fun as it is to blog and connect, your self care is vitally important. Best wishes to you in your journey.

Leave a Reply

