Kelly Counselor's Conversations

A discussion about life and how school counseling fits into it all

Off the Grid

on March 22, 2014

If it feels like I haven’t blogged or been on social media for a while, it because I haven’t.  

Never in my life have I had so much in my personal life going on- we’re expecting our first child in August, and we’re moving an hour and a half way this summer.  Exciting things, but a little much at the same time.

Between the fatigue of pregnancy, combined with the stress of the job, plus numerous house showings, house hunts, and prenatal appointments, there’s just been no time for anything extra.

And I’m done wheenie-whining now.

Stemming from National School Counseling Week, I’ve been saving any positive note from collegues, parents, and students I could and putting them up where I can see them everyday:

Image

I particularly love the one on top that’s in the form of an I message!

Here’s one I got from a student one day as I was finishing up a guidance lesson.  I assumed it was a note asking for help, on a day I didn’t need more crisis.

Image

It’s now taped on my laptop.

The take-away: let yourself go “off the grid” for a while.  Let others help and love you.  Don’t be ashamed to remind yourself like I did on a daily basis.  I really don’t have much of a choice right now (especially with my pregnancy brain!), and it’s been a huge area of growth for me, but a much needed one.  

 

 

Leave a Reply

