Kelly Counselor's Conversations

A discussion about life and how school counseling fits into it all

Identity Crisis

on July 20, 2014

It’s been a rough week for me emotionally, and not just because I have a baby’s foot lodged under my right rib 24 hours a day. 🙂

Now living 90 minutes away from my hometown, I have one foot in my new town and one foot still in the latter- with my doctor, my loved ones, and my career.

And on my long drives back to my hometown, I’ve realized how unsustainable this is in the long run, especially with a son arriving next month.

I think I was the last to “get the memo” about my own life and realize I have to move on from what I’ve always known. I feel like I’m starting life from scratch in many ways and figuring out what my new identity is- as a mom and as a professional. I hope to remain a school counselor but know this may not happen right away. And man, my identity was REALLY tied up in being one.

Things will figure itself out eventually; I won’t let it not. But the process in the meantime is YUCKY.

At least I know these quotes really show who I am:

image

image

Leave a Reply

