Kelly Counselor's Conversations

A discussion about life and how school counseling fits into it all

The Head vs. Heart Dilemma

on October 27, 2014

I could just tell you that I haven’t blogged in over three months because I’m super busy with a 10 week-old and looking for a new job.

Well, this is true. But if I’m honest with both you and myself, it’s not the real reason.

The main reason is, since I’m not “technically” a school counselor at the moment, I felt like a fraud posting in a blog titled “Kelly Counselor’s Conversations”.

When I began this blog a year and a half ago, I was blissfully unaware of how drastically my life was about to change.  It was just me, my husband, and the cat.  We had been living in our starter home for a year and a half.  And I was about to start my fifth year as school counselor at a place I loved.

Then, in December 2013, we found out we were pregnant.  Cool beans!  We had been trying, and miscarried our first time, so we were ecstatic.

Then, my husband was offer a job promotion we couldn’t turned down, requiring us to move once the school year was over.  We moved in June 2014 and had our son Ace in August.  After a lot of contemplation (and also avoiding the issue the first month of maternity leave), I resigned from my school last month.  The commute was simply unsustainable, but it still felt crazy to walk away from the career I loved and work so hard to build.

Those “in the business” know how difficult it can be to find another position in a new geographical area, especially after the school year has begun.  Needless to say, no bites.  So I’m returning to substitute teaching this week to establish new roots.

I’m posting today because too often, we let our head and its technicalities get in the way of doing what our heart wants and needs us to do.  Dictionary.com defines “counselor” as “a person who counsels, advises.”  Does not being a counselor on a payroll mean I’m not one who still yearns to counsel and advise others?  I think not.  So while I may not post as frequently as I once did, my heart and I choose to push on.

PS- you’ll be one of the first to know when I am “technically” a school counselor once again. 🙂

image

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “The Head vs. Heart Dilemma

  1. Jan D-M says:

    Was just thinking of you today! I have you and your wishes in my prayers. There is a plan, Kelly, and it will become more clear. 🙂

Leave a Reply

