Kelly Counselor's Conversations

A discussion about life and how school counseling fits into it all

The Un-SAHM Life

on June 23, 2015

I haven’t written in quite a while, but truly haven’t felt inspired to do so.  Until yesterday.  And then our internet went down.

I have a confession to make- I’m not a very good stay-at-home mom (SAMH).  And, after a long while, I’ve made peace with it.

I’ve had to stare at this realization square in the face since I’ve been off work for the summer.  Don’t get me wrong, spending more time with my son Ace is wonderful.  I’m already seeing him learning and grow in ways that make my heart grow 100 sizes bigger.

But of someone were to ask me what I did all summer, right now I’d reply “empty the dishwasher and clean Ace’s highchair.”

I’ve read a lot of stay-at-home mom vs. working mom debates and everyone in these arguments is under one of two camps: the SAHMs who are grateful to be able to stay home, and working moms who wish they could stay home but must provide financially for the family.

Believe me, both admirable situations.  But even if I COULD stay-at-home, I WOULDN’T.

I’m not quite sure exactly why I feel this way, but I know as a school counselor that being honest with oneself is critical in the entire growth process.  Maybe it’s the need for a fast-paced day.  Maybe it’s that I’m prone to cabin fever too quickly.  Maybe it’s my inability to find enough things to do with Ace (there are only so many walks and patty-cakes we can do).  It’s likely a combination of all this and more.

Ace goes to daycare twice a week still to stay in the routine of things, but really, I know the interaction he gets with everyone there is good for him.  The time away is good for us,  And I’m so happy to see him when I pick him up because, by golly, I miss him.  It’s good for me to miss him.

There are more moms like me out there, I know.  Hopefully one is reading this and feeling just a tad better knowing she’s not alone.

Leave a Reply

