Kelly Counselor's Conversations

A discussion about life and how school counseling fits into it all

Face Value

on March 9, 2016

When I don’t write for a while, it’s usually for one of two reasons: either I’ve been entirely too busy, or I feel I have nothing to write about.

And neither of these reasons is entirely untrue for the current time lapse between posts, but there is another reason- I feel lately  I’ve been negative in my writing.

A few weeks ago, I had to experience an embarrassing moment with my administrator to come to terms that, really, I’ve been comparing my current school to my former school, and we all know where comparing apples to oranges gets us.

In previous posts, I’ve mentioned attempting to get to another level and come to terms with working in a dramatically different school culture and developmental level. And in the end, who ultimately helped me get to this place?  My husband.

Matt encourages me to often see things at face value and for what they are, not what I think they should be.  This is often tough for me to balance with having a passionate, idealistic, and advocating nature.  But, we all also know balance is good.

I think mentally saying, “this is my school, this is where I choose to be, this is where I am loyal, this is where I want to devote my knowledge and heart, and this is where I will put in the time, and where it is now is where it is now” has really helped give me peace.

When we sit and stew over what is or is not, we hurt ourselves.  When we complain about what doesn’t meet our expectations, we hurt ourselves.  And when yearn for something that never was, we hurt ourselves.  Does it hurt the adults you work with?  Nope.  Does it change the system in itself?  No.  Does not reaching your full potential because you’re “stuck” hurt the students you serve?  You betcha.

The next post won’t be so serious, I promise.

today1

 

4 responses to “Face Value

  1. TheCounselingGeek says:

    Noticed similar today due to the busy-ness of the season. Makes me short and snarky sometimes. I have to be vigilant to be kind and fully present sometimes. Thanks Kelly.

  2. Rachel says:

    I very much needed to read something like this today. “this is my school, this is where I choose to be, this is where I am loyal, this is where I want to devote my knowledge and heart, and this is where I will put in the time, and where it is now is where it is now”
    So true…Thank you!

  3. Thank you Jeff and Rachel for your comments! I am glad it resonated with you. Feels great.

  4. Jan says:

    Kelly, I had a similar conversation with a principal after moving to Indiana from Maine and leaving a job so great, I thought I’d never find another I loved as much. I didn’t realize how often I would say, “At my previous school,…” It took a while to find it, and then came Goshen and it was BETTER. .

Leave a Reply

